top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAshley Scotti

love & distance

Happy Sunday lovelies!



I hope everyone has had a peaceful & rejuvenating weekend!


Today, I’m sharing some personal insight on living at a distance from someone that you love. I am familiar with distance as my dad has lived in a different state from me for quite awhile now, and my boyfriend lived in Minnesota last school year.


There is no denying the fact, being away from someone that you love is difficult. Whether it’s your parents, siblings, significant other, close friend, it is never an easy adjustment! As time has gone by, I have learned that love prevails no matter what the distance between two people is.



Living apart from my dad...

I have lived in separate states from my dad since I was in grade school. Living in a different state than one of your parents is not easy, but I have learned so much because of this. This distance has taught me just how precious each moment together is. I am so thankful that I get to see my dad as much as I do despite the distance, and I do my best to truly take in every moment. Whether it is eating a meal, going on a bike ride, or just running errands, it is all special! I always try to take a step back and think about the current moment when we are together, trying to take in the details that will soon be memories :)




Living apart from my boyfriend...

Last year, my freshman year of college, my boyfriend went to University of Minnesota. This was 7 hours away from where I go to college and man… I was a MESS when he left. (He now goes to a college that is just 45 minutes away, so it’s all good). Having just started college and commuting back and forth, it was hard to really make friends since I was just going to class and leaving. Making this adjustment, I struggled not having my boyfriend around to spend time with. Until this time, we had been able to see each other nearly everyday since we lived so close before! As time continued and my studies grew more intense, I tried my best to stay busy while he was away. With distance in a relationship, I learned that it really just takes time. You will find ways to cope and make the time pass! I was always so excited when the holidays came and he would finally be home.




So… how did I/do I cope with distance between my loved ones and I?

Overall, I learned an important life lesson on valuing each and every moment that my loved ones and I are together. This goes for a long distance relationship or not, because you never know what the future holds!


If you are at a distance from someone you love, I also have some great ways to help the time go by when you aren’t together! This includes:

-Face-timing! It is so much better than just talking on the phone. If you can, try to designate a certain time or day to do so! If not, it’s easy to get wrapped up in the day and forget.

-Skype movie dates with your significant other. Just Skype, share your screen, pull up Netflix, & grab some popcorn! My bf and I loved doing this on Friday nights as our “date night” :)

-Putting away your phone when you finally DO have time together. Take in your surroundings and the moment as it is!

-Writing letters/care packages. I have always loved handwritten letters, you can hold onto them and cherish them forever. Plus… there is no better way to make your loved ones day!



Today, I think the key when spending time with loved ones, distance or not, is making sure that you are truly in the moment. Put down your phone, stop thinking about work or school, and make conversation!



I hope this post has been a help to anyone facing the struggle of distance in any type of relationship! Try to keep in mind one of my favorite quotes that goes, “Distance means so little, when someone means so much.” :)



Xoxo,


Ashley

29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page